A late Mardi Gras

That’s how we roll.

Today was the first Saturday I’ve spent in San Antonio since February. I tried keeping a low profile, only leaving to take Van to the Paisano and campus and H-E-B for etouffee ingredients.

Except I forgot celery and had to run to the new H-E-B that’s down the street from us. I don’t know about y’all but I have a hard time getting used to new grocery stores. I’m kind of hooked on the DeZavala heeb, still warming up to Central Market and that’s only because I go there for lunch so often. This new heeb is maybe a mile away from the apartment. It’s big and airy…but we’ll see.

Anyway, my friends Barb and Ashley decided to throw a Mardi Gras-ish party since they couldn’t make it to NOLA this weekend. I think they had more fun staying in SA. Here are a few photos:

Sorry little guys, but you were delicious

Photos from the Crackberry:

Oysters from Groomers. Soo good.

Cool guy. A little quiet.

Artisan bread, beans, rice and shrimp etouffee

Crawfish and beads, what more can you ask for?

Alex shucking oysters

There were puppies everywhere! Two tots falling in love! Did I already mention the Hurricanes?

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A late Mardi Gras

  1. Meagan says:

    OMG. Was so tempted to go to heeeeb and get some crawfish this weekend. Tasty little buggers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

