What’s your number?

A few days into the new year I stumbled upon this link: “The Public Humiliation Diet.”

It was an interesting read. I’m not really down with fat-shaming. I already do that on my own every time I say I’m eating my feelings. It’s not my favorite thing in the world, but he does have a point. Being open about this did have it’s advantages, you know, when I actually blogged regularly. It’s nice having someone or someones to be accountable with besides myself.

So.

Having said that, I’m going to try a little something different this time around. I’m going to post weekly weigh-ins. I don’t think I ever really did a number last time around…for really good reasons. Most of which involve other people learning my weight. More specifically, my guy friends knowing what I weight is terrifying. Weird, I know! We grow up with women being so secretive about some silly number, so much so that we’re terrified of hopping on a square-foot piece of plastic.

But I need to see it. I need to keep track. I need to know that there’s something I’m working toward, slowly, but surely.

This isn’t for everyone. I’m pretty sure there are a TON of magazine articles and what-nots about not stepping on the scale. But, I’m giving this a shot.

276. That was the big (ha!), scary number. I’m off to think of 276 awesome reasons why I’m doing this…

Feel free to add your own number in the comments below, or better yet, why you wouldn’t want to share it.

One thought on “What’s your number?

  1. Meagan says:

    Good for you, girlie! My name is 166. At 5’2″ that’s a BMI of 30.4. As in, Obesity = BMI of 30 or greater. So yeah, I’m back on WeightWatchers. I love the article you linked…I think I do have to publicly share my weight or I won’t do anything about it. Good luck and holler if you need support! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

